Close

Everything you ever wanted to know about working out on an empty stomach.

Training auf nüchternen Magen

Harmful or beneficial?

Who hasn’t heard about training on an empty stomach? While some flatly deny its benefits, others truly believe in this strategy. But what does the scientific evidence say?

For those who don’t know, training on an empty stomach is a strategy with a history, used by cyclists, marathon runners and even triathletes to burn more fat during exercise and enhance the fat consumption process. So, are the benefits only linked to fat levels and body weight? No, there is actually much more to it.
Two years ago I decided to research this topic in-depth through my final master’s project. I worked with two athletes who ran a 10km race before the experiment. I recorded anthropometric measurements such as weight, skin folds, perimeters and diameters, as well as various race tests measuring metabolic and performance variables such as maximal aerobic capacity, blood lactate and speed.

The experiment lasted six weeks, ending with another 10km race. The results showed an improvement in body weight and body fat, in comparison with another subject who did not exercise on an empty stomach (though the difference was not too substantial). The really positive changes were shown in their competition thresholds – in other words, improvements that allowed them to run at a greater speed in the 10km race. Naturally, my conclusions were that this type of strategy can lead to an improvement in running performance during races.

There is a great deal of evidence to support this, although admittedly the sample almost always consists of athletes (cyclists, triathletes, etc.) as opposed to people who are relatively active and wish to lose a little body fat. The scientific evidence  talks  about positive results in terms of an improvement in the fat oxidation rate, an increase in the enzymes involved in lipolysis, a decrease in intramuscular triglycerides (fat) and an increase in the hormones that stimulate fat mobilisation (lipolysis), but practically no studies (except 1 or 2) showed a direct benefit in terms of body fat loss. In other words, there is no truly viable scientific evidence to show that this type of strategy increases body fat loss.

The simple reason is that, regardless of the level of fat mobilisation during training on an empty stomach, the body CANNOT use all these fatty acids as energy, so all the fatty acids that were mobilised in your blood will be stored again as fat. This is because the recommended intensity for this strategy does not require much energy, as in High Intensity Interval Training, for instance.

In my opinion this strategy has been misunderstood, because although it is true that it can lead to positive results in the performance of athletes (running times, submaximal capacity, etc.), it is not ideal for active people who exercise a few days a week and wish to lose some excess body fat and weight. Furthermore, there is little scientific evidence to support its benefits in terms of body composition.

But not everything is negative. Cardiovascular exercise on an empty stomach can help prevent problems such as diabetes and can activate us in the morning, allowing us more free time during the rest of the day.

So, if you don’t mind working out on an empty stomach, here’s what I recommend:

  • Training that consists of low to moderate intensity cardio, such as power walking or jogging.
  • Including at least one portion of carbohydrates in your last meal of the day before.
  • Recovering after training or breakfast by taking a whey protein with L-Glutamine to improve muscle recovery, such as the excellent Premium Whey by Weider.

With other forms of cardiovascular exercise, like High Intensity Training, which affords plenty of evidence in terms fat loss, it is best not to train on an empty stomach.

I hope this article has helped you learn a little more about this topic so you can draw your own conclusions.

Your WEIDER® Team

 

 

0 Comments

Comments are closed

Close

Was Sie schon immer über das Training auf nüchternen Magen wissen wollten.

Training auf nüchternen Magen

Gesund oder schädlich?

Das Training auf nüchternen Magen ist in aller Munde. Einige streiten die Wirkung ab, andere sind von dieser Strategie komplett überzeugt. Was sagen die wissenschaftlichen Nachweise?

Für diejenigen, die es nicht kennen: Das Training auf nüchternen Magen ist eine Strategie mit Geschichte. Radsportler, Marathonläufer und sogar Triathleten wenden sie an, um während des Trainings mehr Fett zu verbrennen, also die Fettverbrennung zu verbessern. Bedeutet das, dass nur Vorteile in Hinblick auf Fett und Körpergewicht zu erwarten sind? Nein, es gibt noch mehr.

Vor zwei Jahren beschloss ich, dieses Thema mittels meiner Masterarbeit weiter zu erforschen. Ich arbeitete hierfür mit zwei Läufern, die einen 10-km-Lauf vor dem Experiment absolviert haben. An ihnen wurden antropometrische Messungen wie Gewicht, Falten, Umfang und Durchmesser vorgenommen sowie mehrere Tests auf der Laufstrecke, bei denen metabolische Variablen und Leistung gemessen wurden, wie die Einteilung des Laufs, das Blutlaktat und die Geschwindigkeit.
Das Experiment erfolgte über 6 Wochen und wurde mit einem weiteren 10-km-Lauf abgeschlossen. Die Ergebnisse waren eine Verbesserung des Körpergewichts und des Körperfetts im Vergleich zu einem anderen Individuum, das nicht auf nüchternen Magen trainiert hatte (aber es war nicht viel). Die wirklich positiven Veränderungen fanden wir bei der Schwelle zum Wettkampf, also Verbesserungen, die eine höhere Geschwindigkeit bei dem 10-km-Lauf ermöglichten. Meine Schlussfolgerung war natürlich, dass diese Art Strategie eine Verbesserung der Leistung bei Läufen bieten kann.

Heute gibt es viele Nachweise,  die sich allerdings fast immer auf Athleten (Radrennfahrer, Triathleten usw.) beziehen und nicht auf relativ aktive Personen, die ein wenig Körperfett verlieren wollen. Der wissenschaftliche Nachweis  spricht  von positiven Ergebnissen in Bezug auf eine Verbesserung der Fettoxidierung, eine Erhöhung der Enzyme, die an der Lipolyse beteiligt sind, Verringerung der intramuskulären Triglyzeride (Fett), Erhöhung der Hormone, die die Fettmobilisierung stimulieren (Lipolyse). Aber in fast keiner Studie (mit Ausnahme von 1 oder 2) wird ein direkter Nutzen in Hinblick auf den Verlust von Körperfett nachgewiesen, d. h. es gibt keine wirklich belastbaren wissenschaftlichen Nachweise, dass diese Art Strategie den Verlust von Körperfett erhöht.
Die einfache Erklärung hierfür lautet, dass trotz hoher Fettmobilisierung während des Trainings auf nüchternen Magen der Körper NICHT alle diese Fettsäuren als Energie verwenden kann, weswegen all diese Fettsäuren, die im Blut mobilisiert wurden, erneut als Fett gespeichert werden, weil die Intensität, die für diese Strategie empfohlen wird, nicht viel Energie erfordert, wie beispielsweise HIT.

Meiner Ansicht nach wurde diese Strategie falsch verstanden, denn es stimmt zwar, dass positive Ergebnisse bei der Leistung von Athleten (Zeit, submaximale Kapazität usw.) erzielt werden können, diese aber nicht für aktive Personen geeignet ist, die einige Tage in der Woche trainieren und mehr Fett und Körpergewicht verlieren wollen, weil es zusätzlich sehr wenige wissenschaftliche Nachweise gibt, die einen Vorteil für die Körperzusammensetzung unterstützen.
Es ist aber auch nicht alles negativ. Das Kardiotraining auf nüchternen Magen kann Diabetes-Problemen vorbeugen und uns morgens aktivieren. Zusätzlich bleibt mehr freie Zeit im Verlauf des Tages.

Wenn Sie also jemand sind, dem es nichts ausmacht, ohne Frühstück zu trainieren, empfehle ich Ihnen Folgendes:

  • Kardiotraining mit geringer bis mäßiger Intensität, d. h. walken oder langsam laufen.
  • Am Vorabend ein Abendessen mit mindestens einer Ration Kohlenhydrate zu sich nehmen.
  • Nach dem Training oder Frühstück eine Proteinlösung mit L-Glutamin zu sich nehmen, um die Muskelerholung zu begünstigen, beispielsweise das wunderbare  Premium Whey von Weider.

Für die Ausübung anderer Kardioübungen wie beispielsweise HIT, die einen hohen Fettverlust mit sich bringen, ist es besser, nicht auf nüchternen Magen zu trainieren.

Ich hoffe, dass Sie durch diesen Artikel etwas mehr über dieses Thema gelernt haben und Ihre eigenen Schlussfolgerungen ziehen können.

Ihr WEIDER® Team

 

 

0 Comments

Comments are closed